What are the six spheres in Buddhism?

What are the six spheres in Buddhism?

In Buddhism, there are six internal sense bases (Pali: ajjhattikāni āyatanāni; also known as, “organs”, “gates”, “doors”, “powers” or “roots”) and six external sense bases (bāhirāni āyatanāni or “sense objects”; also known as vishaya or “domains”).

What is the difference between Nama and Rupa?

Nāmarūpa (Sanskrit: नामरूप) is used in Buddhism to refer to the constituents of a living being: nāma is typically considered to refer to the mental component of the person, while rūpa refers to the physical. Nāmarūpa is a dvandva compound in Sanskrit and Pali meaning “name (nāma) and form (rūpa)”.

What is the meaning of vedana?

Vedanā (Pāli and Sanskrit: वेदना) is an ancient term traditionally translated as either “feeling” or “sensation.” In general, vedanā refers to the pleasant, unpleasant and neutral sensations that occur when our internal sense organs come into contact with external sense objects and the associated consciousness.

What is the sixth mind?

But what about the sixth sense? 6th sense is basically a human being’s ability to perceive something which isn’t actually there. For instance, you feel like something is going to happen before even actually experiencing them. Or, you dream of something and it comes true.

Who is Sarthavaha?

Sarthavaha was the head of the guild who laid down proper rules of conduct. Vaishyas were mainly agriculturists, traders, or landlords.

What does Rupa refer to in Buddhism school days?

Rupa refers to the material realm, in a neutral stance, as different from the kama realm (lust, desire) and the arupa-realm (non-material realm).

What is Sanna in Buddhism?

Saṃjñā (Sanskrit; Pali: sañña) is a Buddhist term that is typically translated as “perception” or “cognition.” It can be defined as grasping at the distinguishing features or characteristics.

What is Kula vedanā?

[ Kula Vedana] The suffering of a family, a clan, or a community due to a collective memory.