How many seats are there in opposition in Lok Sabha?

How many seats are there in opposition in Lok Sabha?

There was no leader of the opposition in the 16th Lok Sabha as the Indian Parliament rules state that a party in the Lok Sabha must have at least 10% (55) of the total seats (545) to be considered the opposition party.

What happened in 2009 in Tamil Nadu?

After counting on 16 May 2009, the results to everyone surprise, showed the DMK and its allies, Indian National Congress and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, winning in a landslide victory, securing 27 out of 39 seats. DMK and its allies were also able to hold on to Pondicherry, which has one seat.

Who is the leader of Opposition in 17th Lok Sabha?

17th Lok Sabha
Leader of the House Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Leader of the Opposition Vacant
Party control National Democratic Alliance

Who is current leader of opposition?

Leader of the Opposition (India)

Leaders of the Opposition of India
Incumbent Mallikarjun Kharge (in Rajya Sabha) Vacant (in Lok Sabha)
Residence New Delhi
Appointer While leader of the largest politicial party that is not in government
Term length 5 years

What were the major events that happened in the year 2009?

Nepal – Maoist Protesters

  • World “swine flu”, Global pandemic.
  • Barack Obama is inaugurated as the 44th President.
  • Michael Jackson dies in strange circumstances.
  • Deadliest bushfires in Australian history.
  • European Union.
  • Ceasefire in the Gaza War.
  • Icelandic banking system collapse.
  • G-20 summit.

What major events happened in 2009 in India?

Events. 1 January – 2009 Guwahati bombings: Five persons, including a boy and a woman, were killed and about 50 injured in serial bomb blasts in Guwahati, Assam. 13 February – 2009 Orissa train derailment: A passenger train derails in Bhubaneswar, Orissa, killing at least 15 people and injuring 150 others.