What are the ISO 9000 series of standards?

What are the ISO 9000 series of standards?

ISO 9000 is defined as a set of international standards on quality management and quality assurance developed to help companies effectively document the quality system elements needed to maintain an efficient quality system. They are not specific to any one industry and can be applied to organizations of any size.

What are the elements of ISO 9000?


  • Management Responsibility.
  • Quality System.
  • Order Entry.
  • Design Control.
  • Document and Data Control.
  • Purchasing.
  • Control of Customer Supplied Products.
  • Product Identification and Tractability.

What are ISO 9000 2000 quality standards?

ISO 9000:2000 is a standard developed and published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), titled “Quality Management Systems-Fundamentals and Vocabulary”. This standard is not used for certification purposes but is used as an aid to help organizations better understand ISO terms and principles.

What are the three standards of ISO 9000?

ISO 9000 is often used to refer to a family of three standards: ISO 9000:2005 – Fundamentals and vocabulary. ISO 9001:2015 – Requirements. ISO 9004:2000 – Guidelines for performance improvement.

Where is ISO 9000 applicable?

The ISO 9000 Series of Quality Standards is not industry specific and is applicable to any manufacturing, distribution or service organization. It is managed by Technical Committee (TC) 176, comprised of international members from many industries and backgrounds.

What is meant by ISO 9000?

ISO 9000 is a set of internationally recognized standards for quality assurance and management. Published by the International Organization for Standardization, it aims to encourage the production of goods and services that meet a globally-acceptable level of quality.

What is quality according to ISO 9000?

The term quality is defined in ISO 9000 as the degree to which a set of inherent characteristics of an object fulfils requirements. Note that: “degree” implies quality is a variable. “a set of” implies quality is not a single characteristic.

What is a quality standard?

Quality standards are sets of good management practices, methods, systems, requirements, and/or specifications established by industry advisory groups to help manufacturers achieve and demonstrate consistent production and product quality.

What is the difference between ISO 2000 and ISO 9000?

Like its predecessor, ISO 9000:2000 is a series of interrelated documents (three in ISO 9000:2000), each with a different function: ISO 9000 deals with fundamentals and vocabulary; ISO 9001, which is the heart of the new revision, states the requirements for the new system; and ISO 9004 provides guidance for its …

How is ISO 9000 implemented?

  1. Implementing ISO 9000 Quality Management System.
  2. Step 1: Top Management Commitment.
  3. Establish Implementation Team.
  4. Start ISO 9000 Awareness Programs.
  5. Provide Training.
  6. Conduct Initial Status Survey.
  7. Create a Documented Implementation Plan.
  8. Develop Quality Management System Documentation.