What are the classification of muscle?

What are the classification of muscle?

The 3 types of muscle tissue are cardiac, smooth, and skeletal. Cardiac muscle cells are located in the walls of the heart, appear striped (striated), and are under involuntary control.

What are the 3 classifications of muscles?

There are about 600 muscles in the human body. The three main types of muscle include skeletal, smooth and cardiac.

How are the muscles classified according to function?

Muscle tissue is classified into three types according to structure and function: skeletal, cardiac, and smooth (Table 4.2). Skeletal muscle is attached to bones and its contraction makes possible locomotion, facial expressions, posture, and other voluntary movements of the body.

What are the 4 types of muscles and examples?

They are:

  • Skeletal: As part of the musculoskeletal system, these muscles work with your bones, tendons and ligaments. Tendons attach skeletal muscles to bones all over your body.
  • Cardiac: These muscles line the heart walls.
  • Smooth: These muscles line the insides of organs such as the bladder, stomach and intestines.

What are 6 major types of muscles?


  • Comparison of types.
  • Skeletal muscle.
  • Smooth muscle.
  • Cardiac muscle.
  • Skeletal muscle.
  • Smooth muscle.
  • Cardiac muscle.

What is a muscle for Class 6?

Muscle is the fibrous tissue in the body that has the ability to contract. Muscles are attached to the bones of our skeleton through strong fibres called tendon. When the muscles attached to bone contracts, it pulls the bone due to which the bone moves at the joint.

What are the 4 properties of muscles?

Muscle tissue has four main properties:

  • Excitability – ability to respond to stimuli;
  • Contractibility – ability to contract;
  • Extensibility – ability of a muscle to be stretched without tearing;
  • Elasticity – ability to return to its normal shape.